Week #8 : Adding non-core libs (SPI) and review of objectives

This week was week #8 at Google Summer of Code.

We’d been planning to do serial for a while, but decided on Wednesday to tackle SPI and I2C first. Serial needs some thinking as we need a way to make things work on all platforms, and we might need serial for that. So that’s on hold for a bit now.
After a very *fair* online lucky draw, courtesy of Andrew, we decided that I’ll be doing SPI and Parav will do the I2C bit.

To get started with, we decided to have a libraries/ folder in our file structure so as to include non-core libraries like I2C, etc. So we had to make the requisite changes in the Userspace.mk file so as to dynamically link those non-core libraries that are included in the code that is being compiled. We already had something like that in our code, which would use some sed magic to get the names of the files that were included in our code and link to them by adding them to ARDUINO_LIBS variable in the makefile. But for some weird reason which I have to debug yet, I haven’t been able to do that. bradfa had the idea that we could include all the libs that are in the libraries folder instead of going through all of this, but for that we decided that I’ll run a few tests that will measure that time and space difference in the build with and without static linking. So that one thing I’ll be doing this week.

SPI is not a tricky bit to be honest. There exists a lot of kernel documentation around that. But the thing is that there are a lot many parameters made available in the structs. So the SPI class constructor will need a lot of defaults to match the defaults set in Arduino. I am referring the online docs at arduino.cc as well as the 1.5 ide branch of Arduino for the same.

I also thought that this would be a good time to reflect on the objectives achieved till now and the ones that are to be delivered by the end of the project. Honestly, there is much to do in this project. We could do so many sample codes, videos, documentation and support more and more boards. But the main objectives that I really want to achieve by the end of September, so that I can say I had a good summer of code are

  1. Have a very good documentation setup.
    Wikis are looking good so far. I need to add details about the functions whose implementations have changed in the wiki. I have already linked the ones that have remained the same to arduino.cc
  2. Complete the core functions We are almost good on this part. I have listed all the core function on the wiki and most of them are green. Some need working, prominently millis/micros and the interrupt functions. I had began working on millis/micros but that turned out slightly more trickier that I thought. Will come back to that later. attachInterrupt, etc have to be tackled as of yet. But apart from these 2-3, we have all other done
  3. Most commonly used libraries
    SPI, I2C, Serial are the prominent ones here. I’d love to get the LCD lib on board too (I happen to use that a lot on my arduino). Will have to talk with the mentors on this one though. They’ll have a better idea of the things which we should focus on
  4. Operating System support
    Linux is easy. Mac and Windows are not that straight forward.
    This bit is tricky. Initially we started working on the Energia IDE. But that got a bit haywire with the number of new repos that we were creating for different parts of the project. So we got it all together and decided to worry about the IDE later. That’s worked out pretty well for us though. Although I’ve mentioned in my proposal that I’d be working on getting all of this to work with the IDE, I am having second thoughts about it now. Never really like the Arduino IDE myself (Emacs user here), but I certainly don’t represent the majority of Arduino users. Having said that, I’d be really glad if we can have a uniform way in which we can have an IDE to write code on the host machine / BBB itself and have the code sent over the black for compilation. That way we  make it easier for a user to start coding ( get rid of the cross compiling bit completely ). Plus we have the stdout which we can send back to the host machine if needed so that we can monitor what’s happening ( while compilation or even after that )
    Is the Energia IDE the best way to do this ? Well that’s a tricky one. But if we can find a better way to do this I’d be more than glad to do it that way.
  5. Videos
    Have a couple of pretty decent videos. My last one was terrible to say the least.

That’s all for this week fellas !

Cheers !

Leave a Reply

